About Us

2017 History Awards

State Historical Society presents
2017 Governor’s Awards for History

2017 Governor’s Awards for History winners
The South Dakota State Historical Society presented its annual Governor’s Awards for History on April 29 at its annual history conference in Sioux Falls. Recipients included, seated from left, Keith L. Crew of Philip, Individual; the Arlington Community Museum (represented by Martin Murphy), Organization; Jon K. Lauck of Sioux Falls, Schell Award for best article in “South Dakota History;” and Marlene Eimers of Redfield Elementary School, History Teacher of the Year. Presenting the awards were Jay D. Vogt, standing left, director of the State Historical Society at the Cultural Heritage Center in Pierre; and David Wolff, vice-president of the society’s board of trustees.