About Us

Brown County Historical Society

2013 Officers:
President: Sherri Rawstern
Vice President: Brad Tennant
Treasurer: Dennis White
Secretary: Jean Rahja
Other Board Members: Evelyn Blum, Rose Kraft and Marie Schumacher

 • Active support for the Dacotah Prairie Museum in Aberdeen
 • Sponsors a research and writing contest for Northern State University and Presentation College history students
 • Maintenance of the Groton Trinity Episcopal Church, which is on the National Register of Historic Places
 • The society was joined by the Brown County Territorial Pioneers organization, whose membership had been declining and whose purpose was the same - to preserve and protect Brown County history.
 • The group works with the Aberdeen Landmarks Commission and the Hamlin Garland Group.

For More Information:
Sherri Rawstern
Dacotah Prairie Museum
PO Box 395
Aberdeen, SD 57401

Dennis White
1002 N. Main
Aberdeen, SD 57401

December 1971

Meeting Schedule:
 • April 14, 2012; July 14, 2012; and a Fall meeting TBA

Web site: