About Us

Keystone Area Historical Society

Current Officers:
President: Sandra McLain
Vice President: Tom Fonck
Treasurer: Westly Parker
Secretary: Tom Stanage

 • Preservation activities within the community with special emphasis on the Keystone Museum:

– Carrie Ingalls memorabilia
– Historical photos
– Antiques
– Displays featuring historical Keystone residents
– Historical classrooms from the late 1890s

 • Sponsoring the “Living History School” every May with the local retired teacher group
 • The museum was the local school from 1900-1982, a Victorian Schoolhouse on the National Register of Historic Places
 • The Langer Rock Collection and mining displays
 • Historical walking tour:

– 21 locations throughout Keystone
– History is presented including the Gold Rush from 1876 through the making of Mount Rushmore

For More Information:
Keystone Area Historical Society
410 3rd St
PO Box 177
Keystone, SD 57751
(605) 666-4847 or 430-9150


Meeting Schedule:
 • 2nd Monday of each month, at 7:00 – 9:00 p.m.

Web site: