About Us

Minnehaha County Historical Society

Current Officers:
President: Jim A. Carlson
1st Vice President-Programs & Marketing: Jennifer Dumke
2nd Vice President-Newsletter: Sandy Dean
Treasurer: Gaylord Helmbrecht
Secretary: Celia Benson
General Board Members: Bill Hoskins, Wayne Fanebust, Ken Alvine, Daren Anderson & Bob Kolbe

 • Monthly meetings with featured speakers; special programs in April and December
Sponsorship of:
 • Larger-than-life statue of South Dakota's first full-term U.S. Senator, R.F. Pettigrew, which is being sculpted by member-artist Darwin Wolf,
 • Publication of a new book, "The History of Rural Schools in Minnehaha County," by member-author Celia Benson,
 • A historical marker committee that has dedicated more than 190 new markers and identified more than 50 markers placed by other groups,
 • Presenters at the Augustana College, Center for Western Studies, annual Dakota Conference,
 • Bus field trips to historic sites,
 • A summer outdoor noon music event at the Old Courthouse Museum,
 • The upcoming publication of a new book, "Twelve Thousand Years of Human History (As Recorded on 250 Historical Markers)."

For More Information:
Minnehaha County Historical Society
200 W 6th St
Sioux Falls, SD 57104
(605) 366-8403 or (605) 528-6290
Like us on Facebook at www.facebook.com/MinnehahaCountyHistoricalSociety

About Us


Meeting Schedule:
 • 3rd Thursday of each month during September – May, at 7:00 p.m. on the second floor of the Old Courthouse Museum; summer hiatus

Web site: