The South Dakota SHRAB was created in 1997 under statutory authority of the Board of Trustees of the South Dakota State Historical Society.  The State Archivist serves as a permanent member and chairman of the SHRAB.  The board must include at least six other members, half of which must be professional archivists.  The board currently consists of the following members:  

Chelle Somsen, Chairman, South Dakota State Historical Society, Pierre

Marcella Cash, Sinte Gleske University , Mission

Robert Russell, Northern State University, Aberdeen

Dr. Harry F. Thompson, Augustana College, Sioux Falls

Tom D. Tobin, Winner

Laurie Langland, Dakota Wesleyan University, Mitchell

Dana Hoffer, Records Management, Pierre  

Mike Runge, City of Deadwood

Patty Andersen, SDSMT, Devereaux Library, Rapid City

Jon Lauck, Sioux Falls