About Us

Board Of Trustees

The South Dakota State Historical Society is governed by a twelve-member board of trustees. Six members are appointed by the Governor of the State of South Dakota, and six members are elected by the Society membership. The board also serves as the state review board for historic preservation purposes and includes an archaeologist, an architect, an architectural historian, an archivist, and a historian.

John D. Fowler, Elk Point
Richard Harnois, Pierre
Jeffrey A. Hazard, Sioux Falls
Robert E. Kolbe, Sioux Falls
Laurie Langland, Fulton
Jon Lauck, Sioux Falls
Peggy Sanders, Oral
Rolene Schliesman, Wilmot
Brad Tennant, President, Aberdeen
Tom Tobin, Winner
Francis Whitebird, St. Francis
David A. Wolff, Vice President, Spearfish
Jay D. Vogt (Director), Pierre

Future Meetings
Friday December 8, 2017
Cultural Heritage Center, Pierre, South Dakota
Meeting Agenda