Preservation

Preservation Staff

Jay D. Vogt - State Historic Preservation Officer
Jay.Vogt@state.sd.us
605-773-3458  
Administers the historic preservation office and also serves as director for the South Dakota State Historical Society.

Ted Spencer - Director of Historic Preservation
Ted.Spencer@state.sd.us
605-773-6296  
Coordinates activities within the historic preservation office and serves as liaison to the City of Deadwood.

Paige Olson - Review & Compliance Coordinator
Paige.Olson@state.sd.us
605-773-6004  
Coordinates review and compliance under Section 106 of NHPA (federal) and SDCL 1-19A-11.1 (state) and manages archaeological matters. Acts as initial point of contact for all review and compliance.

Amy Rubingh - Review & Compliance Archaeologist
Amy.Rubingh@state.sd.us
605-773-8370  
Reviews projects under Section 106 of NHPA (federal) and SDCL 1-19A-11.1 (state) and serves as liaison to SDDOT regarding highway projects.

Kate Nelson - Restoration Specialist & West-Central Historic Preservation Specialist
Kate.Nelson@state.sd.us 
605-773-6005
Administers federal and state tax incentive programs, and handles review and compliance issues concerning architecture under Section 106 of NHPA (federal) and SDCL 1-19A-11.1 (state). Also, works with State and National Registers of Historic Places, certified local governments, grant assistance, historical markers, and other historic preservation issues
in the west-central section of South Dakota.

Liz Almlie - Southern Historic Preservation Specialist
Liz.Almlie@state.sd.us
605-773-6056  
Works with State and National Registers of Historic Places, certified local governments, grant assistance, historical markers, and other historic preservation issues in the southern section of South Dakota. See HP Specialists Regions map for specific counties.

Jennifer Brosz - Northern Historic Preservation Specialist
Jennifer.Brosz@state.sd.us
605-773-2906  
Works with State and National Registers of Historic Places, certified local governments, grant assistance, historical markers, and other historic preservation issues in the northern section of South Dakota. See HP Specialists Regions map for specific counties.

Chris Nelson - Historic Preservation Specialist
ChrisB.Nelson@state.sd.us
605-773-3103  
Works with State and National Registers of Historic Places, certified local governments, grant assistance, historical markers, and other historic preservation issues in South Dakota.

Cindy Snow - Historic Preservation Assistant
Cindy.Snow@state.sd.us
605-773-2907  
Manages databases and HP library, maintains HP website, handles press releases, and coordinates annual Archaeology & Historic Preservation Month.